Five Tips for General Contractors on How to Deal with Impatient Clients

Here are five tips that can help your client relax a bit and encourage a positive testimonial at the end of the project.

1. Present a reasonable project schedule at the start.

The biggest mistake a contractor can make is giving in to a client’s demands for an unrealistic completion date. Making a promise that you likely can’t keep will end up hurting you more than losing a sale. Leave room in the schedule for the possibilities of delays. Better to finish ahead of schedule than to miss your deadline and have an angry customer.

2. Be proactive with communication about scheduling changes.

A well-informed client will be a happy client. If the countertops were cut wrong and have to be re-ordered, let your client know about the problem right away. Again, be realistic about how the problem is going to affect the rest of the schedule. Always try to give them answers to questions before they ask them.

3. Set due dates for product selections.

Give due dates for decisions when clients have to make selections on floor covering, light fixtures, or other items after the contract is signed. Explain the timeline from order to delivery on these items and how a delay or change in a selection can affect the completion date of their project.

4. Do written change orders for changes that affect the schedule.

Remember that your contract with the client includes a timeline as well as a dollar amount. When the client requests changes that don’t increase the costs but do affect the project’s completion date, have that timeline change approved in writing by the client before you proceed. Never assume that they understand how their decisions affect the schedule.

5. Maintain a professional attitude when clients are unreasonable.

Some clients will expect the impossible, regardless of how proactive you are with communication. If the client blows his stack about a delay, make sure you and your employees take the high road and stay calm. Train project managers and field foremen on how to handle impatient clients in a professional manner.


The Clausen Agency Inc., has learned a lot about the challenges of general contractors from our contractor clients. Having proper insurance coverage helps your customers understand that you have their best interests in mind. Give us a call when it’s time to review your general liability and worker’s comp coverage.

Alaina Maggio

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 113

(631) 744-1732

amaggio@clausenagency.com

Allison Stines

Personal Lines Sales Team Manager / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 153

631-744-1732

allison@clausenagency.com

Arlene Clausen

Executive Vice President

(631) 744-1393

(631) 744-1732

info@clausenagency.com

Artis Kalivas

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 124

(631) 744-1732

akalivas@clausenagency.com

Barbara Jones

Retention Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 115

(631) 744-1732

bjones@clausenagency.com

Bill Sepe

Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 116

(631) 744-1732

bill@clausenagency.com

Carla Olzinski, MBA

Human Resources Administrator

(631) 744-1393 x 187

(631) 744-1732

colzinski@clausenagency.com

Carol Payton

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 146

631-744-1732

carol@clausenagency.com

Chad Smith

Platinum Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 169

631-744-1732

chad@clausenagency.com

Cortney Wente

Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 126

(631) 744-1732

cwente@clausenagency.com

Daniel Long

Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 158

(631) 744-1732

dan@clausenagency.com

Danielle Inserra

Commercial Lines Team Assistant / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 142

(631) 744-1732

dinserra@clausenagency.com

Danien Debono

New Business Underwriting Assistant

631-744-1393 x 154

631-744-1732

ddebono@clausenagency.com

Francine McIlree

Commercial Lines Account Executive / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 140

(631) 744-1732

fmcilree@clausenagency.com

Gimmariel (Gigi) Reyes

Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 121

(631) 744-1732

greyes@clausenagency.com

Jeffrey Kinney

Personal Lines Sales Assistant Team Manager / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 129

(631) 744-1732

jkinney@clausenagency.com

Jessica Garafola

Commercial Lines Customer Service Assistant

(631) 744-1393 x 177

(631) 744-1732

jgarafola@clausenagency.com

John Gaudet, ACSRC

Commercial Lines Department Manager / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 120

(631) 744-1732

jgaudet@clausenagency.com

Karin Yezierski

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 128

(631) 744-1732

kyezierski@clausenagency.com

Kerry Gomez

Personal Lines Service Manager / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 123

(631) 744-1732

kerry@clausenagency.com

Luigi Galasso

Billing Specialist / I.T. Assistant

(631) 744-1393 x 119

(631) 744-1732

lgalasso@clausenagency.com

Luis Gudiel

Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 138

(631) 744-1732

lgudiel@clausenagency.com

Mark L. Sweeney Jr.

Technology Manager / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 188

631-744-1732

msweeney@clausenagency.com

Melissa Maitland

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 182

(631) 744-1732

melissa@clausenagency.com

Neil DeVine

Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 209-4035

(631) 744-1732

neil@clausenagency.com

Rich Fehr

Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 178

(631) 744-1732

rfehr@clausenagency.com

Sandra Vassallo

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 125

(631) 744-1732

svassallo@clausenagency.com

Terri Kerrigan

Platinum Account Service Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 191

(631) 744-1732

tkerrigan@clausenagency.com

Personal Lines New Policy Underwriting Team

Personal Lines New Policy Underwriting Team

(631) 744-1393

(631) 744-1732

quotes@clausenagency.com

Victoria Sotcheff

Commercial Lines Account Executive / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 127

(631) 744-1732

vsotcheff@clausenagency.com