Four Ways General Contractors Can Attract New Clients

Here are four ways to keep new prospects coming to your door.


1. Site Signage. Contractor site signs have been used for decades to let the public know who the general contractor is on a project. Even in this age of technology, this simple marketing tool is extremely effective. The site sign clearly connects you with a certain type of project, commercial or residential. The more often a potential client sees your site signs, the higher your reputation grows in his mind.

2. Real Estate Networking. Few prospects are as strong as those who come via personal referral. Real estate agents can be one of your best referral contacts. They know who is looking for property with intent to build. Join networking groups that include real estate agents and get to know them. Send them referrals when you can and you’re likely to see them reciprocate.

3. Video Marketing. Recent marketing statistics say 72% of consumers prefer learning about a service or product through video versus text. Virtual walk-thru tours aren’t just for real estate. They can be a great tool for showing off your best projects and attracting those new clients.

4. Reviews. Yelp and Google Business, along with other review sites, have become the go-to source for checking on the reputation of a business. General contractors are no exception. Encourage your clients to leave testimonials in these places. You can make it extra easy for them by sending them a link and instructions on how to leave a review in an email after the project has been completed.


It’s a competitive climate for general contractors. You need to use every advantage to gain the trust of new clients. The Clausen Agency, Inc. can help you focus on growing your business without worries about risk management. Ask us about testimonials from our other general contractor clients.

Alaina Maggio

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 113

(631) 744-1732

amaggio@clausenagency.com

Allison Stines

Personal Lines Sales Team Manager / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 153

631-744-1732

allison@clausenagency.com

Arlene Clausen

Executive Vice President

(631) 744-1393

(631) 744-1732

info@clausenagency.com

Artis Kalivas

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 124

(631) 744-1732

akalivas@clausenagency.com

Barbara Jones

Retention Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 115

(631) 744-1732

bjones@clausenagency.com

Bill Sepe

Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 116

(631) 744-1732

bill@clausenagency.com

Carla Olzinski, MBA

Human Resources Administrator

(631) 744-1393 x 187

(631) 744-1732

colzinski@clausenagency.com

Carol Payton

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 146

631-744-1732

carol@clausenagency.com

Chad Smith

Platinum Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 169

631-744-1732

chad@clausenagency.com

Cortney Wente

Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 126

(631) 744-1732

cwente@clausenagency.com

Daniel Long

Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 158

(631) 744-1732

dan@clausenagency.com

Danielle Inserra

Commercial Lines Team Assistant / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 142

(631) 744-1732

dinserra@clausenagency.com

Danien Debono

New Business Underwriting Assistant

631-744-1393 x 154

631-744-1732

ddebono@clausenagency.com

Francine McIlree

Commercial Lines Account Executive / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 140

(631) 744-1732

fmcilree@clausenagency.com

Gimmariel (Gigi) Reyes

Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 121

(631) 744-1732

greyes@clausenagency.com

Jeffrey Kinney

Personal Lines Sales Assistant Team Manager / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 129

(631) 744-1732

jkinney@clausenagency.com

Jessica Garafola

Commercial Lines Customer Service Assistant

(631) 744-1393 x 177

(631) 744-1732

jgarafola@clausenagency.com

John Gaudet, ACSRC

Commercial Lines Department Manager / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 120

(631) 744-1732

jgaudet@clausenagency.com

Karin Yezierski

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 128

(631) 744-1732

kyezierski@clausenagency.com

Kerry Gomez

Personal Lines Service Manager / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 123

(631) 744-1732

kerry@clausenagency.com

Luigi Galasso

Billing Specialist / I.T. Assistant

(631) 744-1393 x 119

(631) 744-1732

lgalasso@clausenagency.com

Luis Gudiel

Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 138

(631) 744-1732

lgudiel@clausenagency.com

Mark L. Sweeney Jr.

Technology Manager / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 188

631-744-1732

msweeney@clausenagency.com

Melissa Maitland

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 182

(631) 744-1732

melissa@clausenagency.com

Neil DeVine

Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 209-4035

(631) 744-1732

neil@clausenagency.com

Rich Fehr

Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 178

(631) 744-1732

rfehr@clausenagency.com

Sandra Vassallo

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 125

(631) 744-1732

svassallo@clausenagency.com

Terri Kerrigan

Platinum Account Service Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 191

(631) 744-1732

tkerrigan@clausenagency.com

Personal Lines New Policy Underwriting Team

Personal Lines New Policy Underwriting Team

(631) 744-1393

(631) 744-1732

quotes@clausenagency.com

Victoria Sotcheff

Commercial Lines Account Executive / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 127

(631) 744-1732

vsotcheff@clausenagency.com