Five Things to Consider When Applying for Your General Contracting License in NY

If you are considering pursuing a general contractors license in New York State, you need to be prepared to pass the application process. To begin the process, here are five factors to consider and obtain before applying for your NY general contractor license.


1. Where Will You Be Working?

Since NY general contractor licenses are issued at the county or municipality level, you will want to research the area where you will be working. Each city or county may have different restrictions or requirements to be issued a license to work in that area.


2. Do You Have Employees and the Necessary Insurance?

If you have employees and are considering applying for a general contractor license in New York, you will need to have proof of worker’s compensation insurance for your employees. Other insurance requirements can include disability for your employees and general liability.

3. Can You Pass a Background Check?

Many municipalities, including NYC, require that those applying for a general contractor or home improvement contractor license pass a background check. This can include meeting financial requirements. In NYC, you must provide bank statements showing a minimum balance in your business account over the last 12 months.


4. Do You Have a Physical Address in New York?

Businesses that are from outside of New York may need a permanent business address within New York to be considered for a general contractor license.


5. Do You Perform or Oversee Electrical, Plumbing or HVAC Work?

A general contractor license does not necessarily cover all types of construction projects. A separate license may be needed for overseeing electrical, heating, cooling or plumbing projects.


Obtaining a general contractor license in New York has many requirements. Let us help you meet the specifications for insurance to cover your business and employees. The Clausen Agency, Inc., offers the insurance coverage you need with exceptional service. Our mission is to give our clients and team members the feeling of family while protecting their future. Contact us today for a no-obligation quote for your general contractor business’ insurance needs.

Alaina Maggio

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 113

(631) 744-1732

amaggio@clausenagency.com

Allison Stines

Personal Lines Sales Team Manager / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 153

631-744-1732

allison@clausenagency.com

Arlene Clausen

Executive Vice President

(631) 744-1393

(631) 744-1732

info@clausenagency.com

Artis Kalivas

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 124

(631) 744-1732

akalivas@clausenagency.com

Barbara Jones

Retention Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 115

(631) 744-1732

bjones@clausenagency.com

Bill Sepe

Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 116

(631) 744-1732

bill@clausenagency.com

Carol Payton

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 146

631-744-1732

carol@clausenagency.com

Chad Smith

Private Client Senior Advisor / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 169

631-744-1732

chad@clausenagency.com

Cortney Wente

Personal Lines Advisor / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 126

(631) 744-1732

cwente@clausenagency.com

Daniel Long

Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 158

(631) 744-1732

dan@clausenagency.com

Daniel Gorman

Personal Lines Advisor / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 118

(631) 744-1732

dgorman@clausenagency.com

Danien Debono

Senior Support Specialist

631-744-1393 x 154

631-744-1732

ddebono@clausenagency.com

Jeffrey Kinney

Training Manager / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 129

(631) 744-1732

jkinney@clausenagency.com

Joshua Thibodeau

Personal Lines Senior Advisor / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 148

(631) 744-1732

jthibodeau@clausenagency.com

Karin Yezierski

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 128

(631) 744-1732

kyezierski@clausenagency.com

Kerry Gomez

Personal Lines Service Manager / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 123

(631) 744-1732

kerry@clausenagency.com

Luigi Galasso

Billing Specialist / I.T. Assistant

(631) 744-1393 x 119

(631) 744-1732

lgalasso@clausenagency.com

Mark L. Sweeney Jr.

Technology Manager / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 188

631-744-1732

msweeney@clausenagency.com

Melissa Maitland

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 182

(631) 744-1732

melissa@clausenagency.com

Neil DeVine

Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 209-4035

(631) 744-1732

neil@clausenagency.com

Phillip Tiarks

Personal Lines Advisor in Training / Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 114

(631) 744-1732

ptiarks@clausenagency.com

Rich Fehr

Personal Lines Senior Advisor / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 178

(631) 744-1732

rfehr@clausenagency.com

Sandra Vassallo

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 125

(631) 744-1732

svassallo@clausenagency.com

Terri Kerrigan

Private Client Account Executive / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 191

(631) 744-1732

tkerrigan@clausenagency.com

Personal Lines New Policy Underwriting Team

Personal Lines New Policy Underwriting Team

(631) 744-1393

(631) 744-1732

quotes@clausenagency.com