Three Simple Tips for General Contractors to Prevent Injury on the Job

Construction has the highest number of injuries on the job of any industry. According to OSHA, one out of five workers fatally injured on the job in 2017 was working in the construction industry. The top four causes of construction injuries include: falls, struck by object, electrocutions and caught between objects. Prevention of any type of accident is crucial if you are a general contractor with employees. Here are three simple ways to lower the risk of injury for you and your crew on the job.


1. Wear the Right Gear for the Job

There is a reason that construction workers typically wear hardhats, work boots and gloves – it helps protect them from injuries. It is important that everyone on your crew is wearing the right clothing and gear to protect them from injury. Hardhats, gloves, rubber-soled work boots, heavy clothing, goggles and other gear should be worn at all times to keep you and your workers protected.

2. Strictly Enforce Safety Regulations

OSHA has set standards for safety. While some of these regulations may seem cumbersome, they are recommended for a reason. Whether it is using a ladder correctly or following equipment checklists, following the safety rules can save lives and prevent injuries. With new technology, you can download the latest safety regulations to a smartphone, giving you access to all the best ways to complete various jobs with the lowest risk of injury.


3. Keep a Tidy Work Site

One of the simplest ways to prevent injuries is to clean up debris, tools and other objects on the work site. Trips and falls are the number one cause of injuries. On a construction site, stumbling over a piece of equipment or slipping on a grease spot can be very dangerous. As a general contractor, insist on workers cleaning up messes as they go for a more productive and safe work site.


As a general contractor, it is your job to help ensure the safety of your crew. At The Clausen Agency, Inc., it is our job to make sure you have adequate insurance coverage if an accident happens. We offer the best options in worker’s compensation, as well as coverage for liability. Contact us to get a free quote to protect your business and your employees.

Alaina Maggio

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 113

(631) 744-1732

amaggio@clausenagency.com

Allison Stines

Personal Lines Sales Team Manager / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 153

631-744-1732

allison@clausenagency.com

Arlene Clausen

Executive Vice President

(631) 744-1393

(631) 744-1732

info@clausenagency.com

Artis Kalivas

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 124

(631) 744-1732

akalivas@clausenagency.com

Barbara Jones

Retention Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 115

(631) 744-1732

bjones@clausenagency.com

Bill Sepe

Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 116

(631) 744-1732

bill@clausenagency.com

Carla Olzinski, MBA

Human Resources Administrator

(631) 744-1393 x 187

(631) 744-1732

colzinski@clausenagency.com

Carol Payton

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 146

631-744-1732

carol@clausenagency.com

Chad Smith

Platinum Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 169

631-744-1732

chad@clausenagency.com

Cortney Wente

Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 126

(631) 744-1732

cwente@clausenagency.com

Daniel Long

Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 158

(631) 744-1732

dan@clausenagency.com

Danielle Inserra

Commercial Lines Team Assistant / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 142

(631) 744-1732

dinserra@clausenagency.com

Danien Debono

New Business Underwriting Assistant

631-744-1393 x 154

631-744-1732

ddebono@clausenagency.com

Francine McIlree

Commercial Lines Account Executive / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 140

(631) 744-1732

fmcilree@clausenagency.com

Gimmariel (Gigi) Reyes

Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 121

(631) 744-1732

greyes@clausenagency.com

Jeffrey Kinney

Personal Lines Sales Assistant Team Manager / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 129

(631) 744-1732

jkinney@clausenagency.com

Jessica Garafola

Commercial Lines Customer Service Assistant

(631) 744-1393 x 177

(631) 744-1732

jgarafola@clausenagency.com

John Gaudet, ACSRC

Commercial Lines Department Manager / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 120

(631) 744-1732

jgaudet@clausenagency.com

Karin Yezierski

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 128

(631) 744-1732

kyezierski@clausenagency.com

Kerry Gomez

Personal Lines Service Manager / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 123

(631) 744-1732

kerry@clausenagency.com

Luigi Galasso

Billing Specialist / I.T. Assistant

(631) 744-1393 x 119

(631) 744-1732

lgalasso@clausenagency.com

Luis Gudiel

Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 138

(631) 744-1732

lgudiel@clausenagency.com

Mark L. Sweeney Jr.

Technology Manager / Licensed Broker

631-744-1393 x 188

631-744-1732

msweeney@clausenagency.com

Melissa Maitland

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 182

(631) 744-1732

melissa@clausenagency.com

Neil DeVine

Licensed Insurance Broker

(631) 209-4035

(631) 744-1732

neil@clausenagency.com

Rich Fehr

Account Sales Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 178

(631) 744-1732

rfehr@clausenagency.com

Sandra Vassallo

Customer Service / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 125

(631) 744-1732

svassallo@clausenagency.com

Terri Kerrigan

Platinum Account Service Specialist / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 191

(631) 744-1732

tkerrigan@clausenagency.com

Personal Lines New Policy Underwriting Team

Personal Lines New Policy Underwriting Team

(631) 744-1393

(631) 744-1732

quotes@clausenagency.com

Victoria Sotcheff

Commercial Lines Account Executive / Licensed Broker

(631) 744-1393 x 127

(631) 744-1732

vsotcheff@clausenagency.com